WhatsApp, the world’s most popular messaging app, is trying to offer lost photo and video messages to iOS and Android users. Thanks to the new feature that came to the application, if users select the “View once” option while sending a photo or video message, the message will disappear from both the sender’s and the recipient’s chat after it is viewed. Users can easily take screenshots of photo and video messages.
WhatsApp released the new feature it offered to Android users at the end of June for iOS users on Friday. Now, messages can disappear after users view photo and video messages once.
WILL ALSO BE AVAILABLE FOR GROUP CHATS
The app will not prevent users from taking screenshots. If “View Once” is selected while sending the message, the content will disappear from the sender’s chat and the recipient’s chat. For Android users, the feature will also be available for group chats.
“PEOPLE CAN ALWAYS TAKE SCREENSHOT”
The message announcing the feature says, “For added privacy, your photo or video will disappear from the chat once the recipient opens it. Remember, people can always take screenshots.”
It also reports that WhatsApp will not notify users if buyers receive screenshots of lost content. This is because there is no foolproof way to prevent users from taking screenshots, he explains, and claiming it would offer users a false sense of security.
ALLEGED WORK WAS CONFIRMED
WhatsApp CEO Will Cathcart and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg have confirmed that they are working on this feature.