iOS 15: How to use FaceTime on Android, Focus mode and other features you need to know

administrator 0
iOS 15: How to use FaceTime on Android, Focus mode and other features you need to know


Testing the public beta of iOS 15? Here’s how to use some of the update’s best features.

Apple announced iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 in early June, detailing new features and capabilities coming to iPhone and iPad this fall. We’re a few months away from an official release, but if you’re feeling brave, you can get a taste of the new software by joining the public beta.

The installation process is fairly easy, but testing unreleased software isn’t for everyone. Apps will break and some features will not work. However, there are many features whether or not you decide to install the beta.

Only with iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 Android Not only will you FaceTime with someone using it, you’ll also get new Do Not Disturb tools and notifications will be less of a headache. Here are six of the many features coming to iOS 15 that you’re sure to love.

FaceTime is coming to Windows and Android

When Apple first launched FaceTime, its video and audio calling platform, Steve Jobs said badly that the service would soon be open source and available to everyone. This did not happen. Apple has kept the feature to itself by adding it to every piece of hardware it sells.

But with most of us spending a year using Zoom regularly during the pandemic, Apple is finally expanding FaceTime to include Android and Windows owners.

Instead of publishing an app for either platform, you’ll send a FaceTime link to your Android or PC via your preferred non-iMessage platform, using contacts who can then use a browser for video calling. To create a link, open FaceTime and tap the Create Link or New FaceTime button at the top of the screen. Create Link will automatically create a FaceTime link and open the Share Sheet for you to choose how you want to send the link to someone else; The new FaceTime will ask you to enter a contact’s name and then send the link via Messages and open FaceTime. Search from your iPhone or iPad.

The person receiving the FaceTime link must open it, enter their name when prompted, then tap Join after previewing their video.

Better late than never, right?

Live Text is the magic tool for your Photos library

Google Lens has been around for a while to identify text in a photo, translate foreign languages, or identify real-world items like animals or plants using your phone’s camera. and now your iPhone gets its own version of Lens called Live Text.

There are multiple ways to use Live Text. You can use it before taking a photo in the viewfinder by tapping the Live Text button that appears, or go to the Photos app and open any image in your library. Whether you have Live Text enabled or opened an old image before taking the photo, you should be able to highlight any text, including items such as phone numbers, email addresses, or street addresses, and then share, search, or use that information however you want. Once you start it will be indispensable.

Notification summaries are a nice change

Your iPhone or iPad’s notification tray can seem overwhelming at the end of the day, as your phone receives countless alerts from random apps. With iOS 15, there’s a new Notification Summary feature designed to help you organize your notifications.

To customize your notification summary, go to Settings > Notifications > Scheduled Summary. You can add as many scheduled summaries as you want and select the exact time they will be found in the Schedule section. Select Apps in Summary to view all your installed apps, including the average number of notifications you receive per day from each app. Slide the switch to On for each app you want to delegate to your summary.

When it’s time for a summary to appear on your lock screen or notification shade, you’ll see the number of alerts you’ve received, and even previews of some alerts in a neat preview card. Tap the number to expand the card and see your individual alerts. It’s a nice extra feature for the iPhone and iPad if you ask me.

New Do Not Disturb settings keep Focus on what’s important

Do Not Disturb is a useful feature when you want your phone or tablet to be completely silent and avoid any interruptions, but the all-or-nothing approach isn’t ideal in all situations.

Apple added a new Focus mode in iOS 15 and iPadOS 15 that takes DND to the next level. You can create custom Focus profiles that will only let the apps you choose to alert you while keeping other apps silent.

You can even choose which contacts you still get alerted to, whether it’s messages or phone calls. Anyone else who texts you while your Focus profile is active will see a status notification that you are currently busy, and you will see the message later.

Photos, links and recipes always at your fingertips

When a friend or family member shares a photo with you in Messages or sends them a link to a recipe you’ve always wanted from them, it’s good practice to save the shared item immediately. Otherwise, you’ll have to scroll back through your conversation history to find it. This one is really annoying.

Shared With You is a new feature introduced in iOS 15 that will make it easier to find what’s been shared with you. More specifically, your iPhone and iPad will now automatically show you photos and videos that a close friend has shared with you in the Photos app. Links sent to you will appear in a new Shared With You section on Safari’s homepage. Same thing in the Apple News app. news The same can be said for links to TV shows and movies in the Apple TV app.

Better? You don’t need to do anything for it to start working. No setup, no remembering to change a button. After updating to iOS 15, it will start showing you all the things you lost track of and forgot about.

I’m most excited about the Photos integration. There are so many pictures in chats that I had to save them to my Photos library, but now it will be done automatically for me.

Mail app is no longer a privacy nightmare

Almost anything you get from a large company news newsletter or email has small tracking pixels built into it. Even links in an email can alert the sender when you click on them.

Companies use these tools to measure and monitor whether emails are opened, links are clicked, and other important metrics. However, some people don’t like the idea of ​​being followed.

Thus, Apple added a new privacy tool to the Mail app. You can find it by going to Settings > Mail > Privacy Protection, which should be turned on by default. Mail Privacy Protection hides your IP address so the sender cannot see where you are, and also prevents tracking pixels from knowing that you opened it.

Source: technology


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *