The deadline for WhatsApp’s privacy agreement has arrived: What awaits users who do not agree?

administrator 0
The deadline for WhatsApp's privacy agreement has arrived: What awaits users who do not agree?


The deadline set by the messaging application WhatsApp for the adoption of the confidentiality agreement on data sharing came at the end of May 15th.

The deadline set by the messaging application WhatsApp for the acceptance of the confidentiality agreement regarding data sharing 15 May finally arrived.

According to the latest WhatsApp statement, the accounts of those who do not accept this contract will not be deleted; however, these users will not be able to send or receive messages after a while.

The accounts of these users will be defined as “inactive accounts”.

Those who do not accept WhatsApp’s new privacy agreement will gradually become unable to use some of the application’s features and will eventually be unable to use the WhatsApp application at all.

February 8, announced as the deadline for accepting this contract, which was announced in January, was postponed to May 15, following the reactions.

In Turkey, the Competition Board and the Personal Data Protection Board Facebook and launched an investigation against WhatsApp of its own accord.

So what awaits users who do not accept this agreement?

First, users will receive a notification stating that they have to accept the agreement; After a few weeks, this notification will be permanent.

At this stage, users will not be able to access groups in WhatsApp and will be able to answer incoming calls.

After a while, the application will not be available in any way.

Accounts that are inactive for 120 days will be deleted.

According to WhatsApp’s statement, two billion users have already accepted the contract.

It was seen that many users who did not want to accept the confidentiality agreement preferred WhatsApp’s rival apps.

These rules have been in effect since 2016

Since Facebook acquired WhatsApp in 2014, it has been eagerly anticipated how the rules regarding data sharing and privacy will change.

Especially, the fact that Facebook was not a trusted platform with scandals about data sharing and privacy caused this question mark to emerge.

According to Wired magazine, the warning sent by WhatsApp to users’ screens is an extension of the rules that changed in 2016 regarding what data will be shared with Facebook.

That’s why, according to the magazine, these rules have been valid since 2016.

According to Wired, the new privacy agreement is a change in how to store communications that are maintained by users who have more of WhatsApp’s business accounts (WhatsApp Business).

In the major update on privacy and data sharing rules in 2016, users were given the option to disable the sharing of some data with Facebook; however, this option is deprecated with the new contract.

The data of more than one billion users who installed the application after 2016 were already being shared with Facebook.

Facebook argued in a statement to Wired that the new agreement does not mean a change in its current privacy policies.

What data will WhatsApp share?

Wired magazine emphasizes that the latest change does not affect the end-to-end encryption application.

This means that the messages, photos or other content you send can only be viewed on your own smartphone or on the devices of the people you send.

WhatsApp and Facebook cannot display the content of messages.

The data that WhatsApp uses and shares is mostly about how you use the application.

Among the data shared by WhatsApp with Facebook, your phone number, how long and how often you use WhatsApp, how you interact with other users, information about your device, your IP address, your operating system, browser data, battery health, application version, include mobile network, language and time zone.

According to your initial permission to WhatsApp, your payment data and location are among the data that can be shared with Facebook.

What ads can you be exposed to?

TechRadar technology news website reminds you that WhatsApp also shares your status, stories and profile photo and that you may be exposed to advertisements according to these.

If you share information in your WhatsApp status that you want to buy a particular car model, Facebook will transmit this data to advertisers so that you can see ads on Facebook, WhatsApp, Messenger and Instagram accordingly.

It is emphasized that if you use WhatsApp’s payment system to shop from a coffee brand, or if you share a story in the application that you drink coffee, the possibility of seeing advertisements about your consumption habits will increase.

TechRadar also mentions that if you have a WhatsApp business account, the products you sell may be shared with competitors.

All these concerns about WhatsApp’s data security and privacy have made apps like Telegram and Signal more popular.

BBC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *